Calcasieu Parish Civil Courts & Third Court of Appeals & U.S District Courts for the Western District of Louisiana

Civil Courts in Lake Charles — Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana
in which a Personal Injury Lawyer would file a lawsuit

If you live in Lake Charles and want to file a lawsuit, your Lake Charles Personal Injury Attorney will know in which of these courts your case should be filed.

The trial courts in the state all have jurisdictions that overlap with other courts.

If your claim is worth at least $3000, then you may file in the District Court, which has unlimited civil jurisdiction:


Calcasieu 14th Judicial District Court
Calcasieu Parish Judicial Center
1001 Lakeshore Drive, PO Box 3210
Lake Charles, LA 70602
(337) 437-3530

You may also file in this court, which has jurisdiction for claims up to $25,000:

Lake Charles City Court
800 Bilbo Street D, PO Box 1664
Lake Charles, LA 70601
(337) 491-1305

If you want to appeal a decision from a civil court, you will do that here:


Louisiana Courts of Appeals

The State Intermediate Appellate Court for Calcasieu Parish is located at:

Louisiana Third Circuit Court of Appeal
1000 Main Street
Lake Charles, LA 70615
(337) 433-9403

Parish Coverage:

Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Catahoula, Concordia
Evangeline, Grant, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Natchitoches
Rapides, Sabine, St. Landry, St. Martin, Vermilion and Vernon Parishes

Finally, if you wish to appeal a civil decision from the appellate courts you will file it in:


The Supreme Court of Louisiana

Louisiana Supreme Court
400 Royal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 310-2300

Law Library of Louisiana
400 Royal Street, Second Floor
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 310-2400

Chief Justice Catherine D. Kimball

Associate Justice Greg Gerard Guidry

Associate Justice Jeffrey P. Victory

Associate Justice Jeannette Theriot Knoll

Associate Justice Marcus R. Clark

Associate Justice John L. Weimer

Associate Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson



Supreme Court of Louisiana Docket Search

If there is diversity or a "federal question," then a personal injury lawsuit can be filed in one of these courts depending on your District and Division:

United States District Court

The Western District of Louisiana - Lake Charles Division

Lake Charles Division
Edwin F. Hunter, Jr. United States Courthouse and Federal Building
611 Broad Street, Suite 188
Lake Charles, LA 70602
(337) 437-3870

Law Library open to the public:

Calcasieu Parish Law Library
1011 Lake Shore Drive 4
Lake Charles, LA 70601
(337) 437-3587


Chief Judge

Robert James

District Judges

Judge Richard Haik

Judge Rebecca Doherty

Judge Dee Drell

Judge Patricia Minaldi

Judge S Maurici Hicks Jr.

Judge Elizabeth Erny Footy

Judge Thomas Stagg Jr.

Judge Donald Ellsworth Walter

Judge James Travis Trimble Jr.

Judge Tucker L. Melancon

Map of USDC Western District of California - Lake Charles Division

The Lake Charles Division covers the following Louisiana Counties:

Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis and Vernon Parishes

If you wished to appeal from one of the trial courts in the United States District Court for the Western District of Louisiana - Lake Charles Division, you would appeal to the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals located in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

600 South Maestri Place
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130-3408
(504) 310-7700

The Judges in the Fifth Circuit are:

Edith H. Jones, Chief Judge
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12505, Houston, TX 77002-2655
(713) 250-5484

Carolyn Dineen King
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 11020, Houston, TX 77002-2694
(713) 250-5750

E. Grady Jolly
245 E. Capitol Street, Room 202, Jackson, MS 39201-2414
(601) 965-4165

W. Eugene Davis
800 Lafayette St., Suite 5100, Lafayette, LA 70501-6883
(337) 593-5280

Jerry E. Smith
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12621, Houston, TX 77002-2698
(713) 250-5101

Emilio M. Garza
8200 I-10 West, Suite 501, San Antonio, TX 78230-3878
(210) 525-2950

Fortunato P. Benavides
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 450, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5796

Carl E. Stewart
300 Fannin Street, Suite 2299, Shreveport, LA 71101-3074
(318) 676-3765

James L. Dennis
600 Camp Street, Room 219, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8000

Edith Brown Clement
600 Camp Street, Room 200, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8068

Edward C. Prado
755 E. Mulberry Ave., Suite 350, San Antonio, TX 78212-3186
(210) 472-4060

Priscilla R. Owen
903 San Jacinto Boulevard, Room 434, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5167

Jennifer Walker Elrod
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12014, Houston, TX 77002-2603
(713) 250-7590

Leslie H. Southwick
245 E. Capitol Street, Room 222, Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 965-4017

Catharina Haynes
1100 Commerce Street, Room 1264, Dallas, TX 75242
(214) 753-2750

Senior Judges:

Thomas M. Reavley
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 11009, Houston, TX 77002-2605
(713) 250-5185

Will Garwood
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 300, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5113

Patrick E. Higginbotham
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 400, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5723

Jacques L. Wiener, Jr.
600 Camp Street, Room 244, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8098

Rhesa H. Barksdale
245 E. Capitol St., Room 200, Jackson, MS 39201-2414
(601) 965-5840

Harold R. DeMoss, Jr.
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12015, Houston, TX 77002-2605
(713) 250-5462


Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

States that make up the 5th Circuit are Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi.

If you wished to appeal from the 5th Circuit, you would file a Writ of Certiorari with:

The United States Supreme Court
Washington, D.C.

Contact information for the Supreme Court of the United States and its Justices:

Clerk's Office: (202) 479-3011
Public Information Office: (202) 479-3211
General Inquiry: (202) 479-3000

Supreme Court of the United States
1 First Street NE
Washington, DC 20543


The chambers of the Supreme Court Justices are located mainly on the second floor of the Supreme Court building, with the exception of Justice Ginsburg's third floor chambers. Their individual chambers are not available to the public, and no direct phone line to a Justice exists for the public. The Justices may be contacted only via traditional mail. The nine Justices and the preferred way to address a letter are listed below.

Chief Justice John G. Roberts

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable John G. Roberts
Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court

Justice Antonin Scalia

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Antonin Scalia
Associate Justice

Justice Anthony M. Kennedy

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Anthony M. Kennedy
Associate Justice

Justice Clarence Thomas

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Clarence Thomas
Associate Justice

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Associate Justice

Justice Stephen G. Breyer

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Stephen G. Breyer
Associate Justice

Justice Samuel Anthony Alito

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Samuel Anthony Alito
Associate Justice

Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Sonia Sotomayor
Associate Justice

Justice Elena Kagan

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Elena Kagan
Associate Justice


Read the latest United States Supreme Court Slip Opinions


Personal Injury Attorneys Serve Lake Charles and Surrounding Cities

Serving clients throughout Southwestern Louisiana, including Carlyss, Holmwood, Iowa, Lake Charles, Moss Bluff, Port of Lake Charles, Sulphur, Westlake, and other communities in Calcasieu Parish.

Lake Charles Wrongful Death Lawyers are experienced trial lawyers and can represent you in federal and state courts throughout the Greater Lake Charles area. Contact a Lake Charles Personal Injury Lawyer today for a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION.